Grape varieties

Le Sauvignon

Fresh and intense, the white wines of Reuilly express floral and vegetal aromas (blackcurrant bud, lime blossom, etc.) which underline the delicious texture of a mouth full of fresh fruit. The king of the Center-Loire grape variety, where it is historically from, sauvignon acquired its letters of nobility at the start of the 20th century during the reconstitution of the vineyards after the phylloxera crisis.

sauvignon.jpg

The climatic conditions and the diversity of the terroirs give Sauvignon Blanc a very slow maturity which allows it to develop and fully express, depending on the soils on which it flourishes, all the finesse and freshness typical of this grape variety. The clay-limestone soils (Kimmeridgian) bring freshness and liveliness to these wines.

On the caillottes, sauvignon gives fruity and aromatic wines, tasty from their earliest youth. The flint confers uprightness and elegance to the wines, bringing a mineral touch to the wines with this so particular aroma of "flint". The sands and gravels give them freshness and fruitiness.

Sauvignon reveals a palette of rich and complex aromas, ranging from citrus fruits (orange, grapefruit) to white flowers (iris, acacia, lime), vegetal scents (mint, broom, boxwood) through notes of white fruits ( peach, pear) and even exotic fruits (pineapple, passion, lychee), always with that fresh and precise mineral note.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Cultivated in other regions of France, sauvignon blanc is also called: white smoked, Douce blanche, Feigentraube, Fié, Fumé blanc, Punechon, Savagnou.

Le Pinot Noir

Red Reuilly expresses all the intensity of Pinot Noir through aromas of red fruits (raspberries, wild strawberries, etc.) and black fruits (cherries, blackcurrants, etc.). On the palate, they are full, enveloped and light. Ambassador of red wines from Center-Loire, Pinot Noir covers 16.4% of Center-Loire. Unique grape variety for Sancerre, Menetou-Salon and Reuilly wines, it is blended with Gamay for Coteaux du Giennois and Châteaumeillant wines.

pinot-noir.jpg

The Pinot Noir cluster is small and compact (pine cone shaped) with small, tight, ovoid-shaped grains, with thin skin of a velvety blue-black color. Pinot Noir offers a very varied palette of expressions and aromas, giving the wines elegance and delicacy.

A red grape from the northern regions, Pinot Noir is precocious and slowly matures. Adapted to clay-limestone soils and continental climates, this grape variety is delicate for its color and structure and therefore finds its favorite soils in Center-Loire to express its finesse and elegance.

Medium length vatting produces light and fruity red wines developing aromas of red fruits (morello cherry, cherry, wild strawberry). A longer vatting will give wines with a more assertive structure as well as a more powerful bouquet (prune, spicy notes, kirsch cherries, vanilla).

 

The juice of Pinot noir being colorless, the grains are macerated and fermented with their skin which contains the colored pigments. It is after this step, more or less long, that the juice will take on this pretty cherry red color, slightly purple.

Grown in other regions of France, Pinot Noir is also called: Auvernat, Plant fin, Pinot fin.

Le Pinot Gris

The Reuilly rosés from Pinot Gris are supple and delicate with aromas of fresh white-fleshed fruits and exotic fruits. Pinot gris represents 0.8% of the vines planted in Center-Loire, only spread over the Reuilly and Châteumeillant appellations. Its clusters are small and the berries are tight and spherical, with a very sweet and fragrant flesh. The grains have a thick skin that can vary between pink and powder blue.

pinot_gris.jpg

Used to make slightly colored rosés, Pinot Gris produces particularly generous wines, imbued with freshness and gluttony.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

A variant of Pinot noir, Pinot gris is adorned with a much lighter shade. Vinified in rosé for the wines of Reuilly and Châteaumeillant, it is characterized by its pale pink color, limpid and brilliant. Discreet at first glance, this grape variety subsequently reveals a beautiful aromatic complexity, ranging from fresh fruits (white peach, apricot, raspberry) to more pronounced notes (exotic fruits, field flowers).

Pinot gris is distinguished by gourmet aromas of honey, beeswax, gingerbread or even candied fruit of astonishing finesse.


Synonyms: Pinot beurot, Malvoisie, Auvergnat, Tokay (Alsace).


Anecdote : A famous legend claims that Pinot Gris was brought from Hungary around 1565 by Baron Lazare de Schwendi, who ordered the planting of this very noble and prized grape variety to be multiplied.

Cépages

Le Sauvignon

Frais et intenses, les vins blancs de Reuilly expriment des arômes floraux et végétaux (bourgeon de cassis, tilleul…) qui soulignent la texture gourmande d’une bouche pleine de fruits frais. Cépage roi du Centre-Loire, dont il est historiquement originaire, le sauvignon a acquis ses lettres de noblesse au début du XXe siècle lors de la reconstitution des vignobles après la crise du phylloxera.

Les conditions climatiques et la diversité des terroirs offrent au sauvignon blanc une maturité très lente qui lui permet de se développer et d’exprimer pleinement, en fonction des sols sur lesquels il s’épanouit, toute la finesse et la fraîcheur typique de ce cépage. Les terres argilo-calcaires (kimméridgien) apportent à ces vins fraîcheur et vivacité.

 

Sur les caillottes, le sauvignon donne des vins fruités et aromatiques, savoureux dès leur prime jeunesse. Le silex confère droiture et élégance aux vins, apportant une touche minérale aux vins avec cet arôme si particulier de "pierre à fusil". Les sables et graves donnent eux la fraîcheur et le fruité.

 

Le sauvignon révèle une palette d’arômes riches et complexes, allant des agrumes (orange, pamplemousse) aux fleurs blanches (iris, acacia, tilleul), des senteurs végétales (menthe, genêt, buis) en passant par des notes de fruits blancs (pêche, poire) et même de fruits exotiques (ananas, passion, litchi), avec toujours cette note minérale fraîche et précise.

Cultivé dans d’autres régions de France, le sauvignon blanc se fait aussi appeler : Blanc fumé, Douce blanche, Feigentraube, Fié, Fumé blanc, Punechon, Savagnou.

Le Pinot Noir

Les Reuilly rouges expriment toute l’intensité du Pinot Noir à travers des arômes de fruits rouges (framboise, fraise des bois…) et noirs (cerise, cassis…). En bouche, ils sont pleins, enveloppés et légers. Ambassadeur des vins rouges du Centre-Loire, le Pinot Noir couvre 16,4 % du Centre-Loire. Cépage unique des vins de Sancerre, Menetou-Salon et Reuilly, il entre en assemblage avec le Gamay pour les vins des Coteaux du Giennois et de Châteaumeillant.

La grappe du Pinot Noir est petite et compacte (en forme de pomme de pin) avec des petits grains serrés de forme ovoïde, à la peau mince d’une couleur bleu-noir veloutée. Le Pinot Noir offre une palette d’expressions et d’arômes très variée, conférant aux vins élégance et délicatesse.

Cépage rouge des régions septentrionales, le pinot noir est précoce et à maturation lente. Adapté aux terroirs argilo-calcaire et aux climats continentaux, ce cépage est délicat pour sa couleur et sa structure et trouve donc ses terrains de prédilection en Centre-Loire pour exprimer sa finesse et son élégance.

Une cuvaison de durée moyenne permet d’obtenir des vins rouges légers et fruités développant des arômes de fruits rouges (griotte, cerise, fraise des bois). Une cuvaison plus longue donnera des vins ayant une structure plus affirmée ainsi qu’un bouquet plus puissant (pruneau, notes épicées, cerises kirschées, vanille).

 

Le jus du Pinot noir étant incolore, les grains sont macérés et fermentés avec leur peau qui contient les pigments colorés. C'est après cette étape, plus ou moins longue, que le jus va prendre cette jolie couleur rouge cerise légèrement pourpre.

Cultivé dans d’autres régions de France, le Pinot Noir se fait aussi appeler : Auvernat, Plant fin, Pinot fin.

Le Pinot Gris

Les Reuilly rosés issus de Pinot Gris, sont souples et délicats sur des arômes de fruits frais à chair blanche et des fruits exotiques. Le Pinot gris représente 0,8 % des vignes plantées en Centre-Loire, uniquement répartis sur les appellations Reuilly et Châteumeillant. Ses grappes sont petites et les baies sont serrées et sphériques, avec une chair très douce et parfumée. Les grains sont munis d'une peau épaisse qui peut nuancer entre le rose et le bleu poudré. 

Utilisé pour faire des rosés légèrement colorés, le Pinot gris produit des vins particulièrement généreux, empreints de fraîcheur et de gourmandise.

Variante du Pinot noir, le Pinot gris se pare d’une teinte beaucoup plus claire. Vinifié en rosé pour les vins de Reuilly et de Châteaumeillant, il se caractérise par sa couleur rose pâle, limpide et brillante. Discret au premier abord, ce cépage dévoile par la suite une belle complexité aromatique, allant des fruits frais (pêche blanche, abricot, framboise) jusqu’à des notes plus prononcées (fruits exotiques, fleurs des champs).

 

Le Pinot gris se distingue par des effluves gourmands de miel, de cire d'abeille, de pain d'épice ou encore de fruits confits d’une étonnante finesse.


Synonymes : Pinot beurot, Malvoisie, Auvergnat, Tokay (Alsace).


Anecdote : Une célèbre légende prétend que le pinot gris aurait été rapporté de Hongrie vers 1565 par le baron Lazare de Schwendi, qui aurait ordonné de multiplier la plantation de ce cépage très noble et prisé à l'époque.